The 2016 VIATEC Awards were held June 24, 2016, and Alacrity would like to congratulate all the 2016 Viatec Award Winners.

We are particularly proud that so many representatives of Alacrity Foundation portfolio companies were chosen this year. Rob Dwyer & Aurora Walker from Pretio were honoured with the Employee of the Year award; Echosec for Innovative Excellence; and of course, Jim Hayhurst who was recognized for his many years of tireless contributions to the Victoria technology scene with the Colin Lennox Award.

The Colin Lennox award is VIATEC’s highest honour, awarded each year to a local Technology Champion who embodies the same principles that set Colin apart. Colin Lennox played a strong role in helping foster tech companies in Greater Victoria. Although he passed away in 2004, Colin is still fondly remembered by many people in Victoria’s technology industry. He was a tireless supporter and mentor to dozens of successful Vancouver Island technology companies. He strongly advocated for a shared vision of growing our knowledge community, and creating opportunities for entrepreneurs of all ages.

Colin Lennox understood the importance of collaboration, sharing knowledge and the significance to the community in growing small businesses. Congratulations Jim on being selected as the 2016 Colin Lennox Award recipient!

The VIATEC 2016 Award Winners


Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees)

Schneider Electric


Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees)



Technology Company of the Year (1-10 employees)



Emerging Technology Company of the Year

Stocksy United


Startup of the Year

Green Sky Labs


Product of the Year



Innovative Excellence – Software or Service


Innovative Excellence – Hardware

DreamCraft Attractions


Executive of the Year

Brianna Wettlaufer, Stocksy United


Employees of the Year

Aurora Walker and Rob O’Dwyer, Pretio Interactive


Team of the Year

StarFish Medical


Employer of the Year

Carmanah Technologies


Creative Excellence

Victoria Hand Project


The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion

Jim Hayhurst, Pretio Interactive


VIATEC Member of the Year

Ladies Learning Code


For more information on the organization’s contribution to the community, please visit “>VIATEC

2016 Viatec Awards

%d bloggers like this: